PDA

View Full Version : Best 200 gr. 45 ACP Bullet

Half Dog
10-15-2015, 01:14 PM
What are your most accurate 200 gr. 45 ACP bullets?

I am hoping to learn more about casting bullets for accuracy. I would like to know the lead composition, hardness, speed of the bullet, how much of which powder, and notes you wish to share?

How long do you wait to shoot newly cast bullets?

Yes... I am new to casting and I firmly believe every question can be answered here.

Thanks

jcren
10-15-2015, 01:30 PM
Well, you are starting with a great cast learner caliber. No need to reinvent the wheel here, pick out a hg-68 swc clone and pick one o many proven recipies. Personally, I use the standard lube lee, tumble or powder coat and 4 grains of Red Dot powder. 45 acp is low pressure, so getting fancy with lead alloy is probably a waste unles you have a Ransom rest or something. I just run 50/50 wheel weights and pure or buy a 96-2-2 alloy from one of the reputable sellers here and my RIA 5" will make one ragged hole at 20yards every time.

2wheelDuke
10-15-2015, 02:12 PM
You're going to hear some widely varied answers here.

I'd say my most accurate is the H&G68 clone SWC. I consider that the old standby for a 1911. The only downside to that design is it doesn't feed well in some guns, like compact semi-autos.

I also have a 200gr round nose hollowpoint mold for .45. It's pretty accurate too, and I haven't seen a gun yet that won't feed it well.

They both seem to shoot well with a wide range of alloys, but the hollowpoint only wants to expand well with a fairly soft lead, like 25:1 alloy.

Kraschenbirn
10-15-2015, 02:39 PM