PDA

View Full Version : lapping barrels from .243-7mm / .303-8mm - possible ?

rosst
09-30-2015, 05:08 PM
Hi there, a question for the more knowledgable about lapping barrels - while i have read about it ( mostly here ) i have no practical knowledge at all on the subject

in a discussion on my local shooting site a guy stated he had seen 2 rifle barrels lapped out way more than i have ever heard of, a .243 to 7mm amd rechambered to 7mm Muaser and a .303 opened up to 8mm and keeping the rifling sharp during the process . . . has anyone heard or tried anything like this . .. i have my doubts, can't imagine any sharp edges left after the amount of abrasive that must have been used let alone keeping the dimensions stable for the length of the barrel, but as i say i have no knowledge on the subject, time to seek wiser council then . .. opinions appreciated

cheers R

aspangler
09-30-2015, 05:50 PM
After seeing what happened to some EXPENCIVE 22 rinfire barrels that had ben lapped by " expert gunsmith" I don't think there would be any rifling left. Those 22 barrels looked like a smooth bore inside after lapping. Barrels had to be replaced. IMHO it would not work. Rebore and re rifle.

M-Tecs
09-30-2015, 07:03 PM
He is smoking some good stuff. 100% BS

Bent Ramrod
09-30-2015, 07:08 PM
I once bought an old Winchester .25-20 barrel that some amateur had rebored and rechambered to what I thought was .30-30. Somehow he had managed to reproduce the chamber and bore about 0.011" small in every dimension. A full length sized .30-30 shell wouldn't chamber beyond 2/3rds and the groove diameter of the barrel was about 0.299".

I resolved to bring the bore up to 0.308" by lapping. The occasional do-it-yourself gunsmithing article in the pop lit back then warned that a few strokes too many with the lapping rod would take a 25-cal barrel to 6.5mm, so be careful!