PDA

View Full Version : A Couple of 357 Mag questions

shaman
09-28-2015, 08:59 AM
This is my first year of casting for centerfire rifle and pistol. A while back, I decided to turn all my .35 cals into cast lead shooters. So far, I've been very happy and very happy with the advice y'all have given me. Along the way, I've gotten into Powder Coat, and have good luck with it in my 35 Whelen as well as my 357 Mag Marlin 1894.

I just have a couple of questions for y'all in regards to the 357 Mag. These are somewhat unrelated, but they're coming out of the same rifle.

Question 1:

I have developed a nice hot 357 Mag load using a Powder Coated 358 grain GC'd Lee bullet and 16 grains of H110. It clocks at over 1800 fps. I can hit a pie plate offhand at 50 yards. However, I had to change out the rear sight and put a Williams peep sight on the receiver to get there. While I was sorting the last batch of brass, I found a rather serious split in one of the cases. This was the 5th or 6th loading for this brass. It went almost all the way to the head. Should I worry about this or just chuck that lot of brass? In 15 years of loading, I have not seen a pistol case split like this.

Question 2:

I had some lead 125 grain Lee Bullets out this weekend-- just plinking loads done up with 5 grains of Tightgroup. These are also the practice loads I use for my CC Ruger LCR. They clock just a hair better than a 38 SPL +P. I was using them to check out the new Williams peep sight. After shooting a 4 inch group at 50 yards, my son and I took turns plinking water bottles. One round found a rock in the grass, ricocheted , and embedded in a fencepost. My son dug it out. It had a bit of a dent from the rock, but otherwise it had no deformation. This is the same alloy mix I'm using in my 35 Whelen. Should I be worried that this alloy is too hard for deer hunting? The alloy is 50% WW and 50% PB.

petroid
09-28-2015, 09:36 AM