PDA

View Full Version : Making pure lead harder . . . ?

TexasJeff
04-02-2008, 11:17 AM
Like many of you, I'm stockpiling lead. I have a source on around 1500 pounds of absolutely pure lead pipe. The cost is about right--if I haul it, I can have it.

Now, next question is . . . besides mixing WW with pure lead, what are other ways to increase the BHN, once cast into boolits, to a suitable hardness for low-velocity handgun boolits? I'm mainly talking .38 special, 44 special, 45 acp, and probably some .380 acp.

I've heard about linotype, but that seems as rare as a pro-gun national journalist. Antimony, I read, is hard to melt as it takes a much hotter temp to melt and blend into the molten lead.

And, I've read about arsenic. Kinda makes the hairs on my neck stand up, but then again, so did some of the stuff I had to do in the service years ago. Do it right and you're okay, but dealing with chemicals like arsenic isn't something I have a lot of experience with.

What would any of you recommend to harden up pure lead?

Thanks.

Jeff

kawalekm
04-02-2008, 11:58 AM
Hi Jeff
I'm partial to tin myself, so I would add 0.5-1.0lb of lead-free plumbing solder to 19lbs of pure lead. The kind I get at Home Depot (don't buy Silver solder) is 95% tin and 5% antimony. It will state 95/5 on the label on the side of the roll.

Another excellent source of tin is old pewter, which I periodicly find in flea market and yard sales. Historicly, pewter was at least 85% tin by law, so if the bottom of the object (plate, vase, pitcher, ect) says the word "pewter" it is at least 85% tin. Modern comemporary pewter is lead-free and uses a 97/3% tin/antimony recipe. For old pewter add 1lb to 16lbs of lead. For new pewter add 1lb to 19lb of lead. Each will give you lead alloy with 5% tin.
Michael

HORNET
04-02-2008, 01:02 PM