PDA

View Full Version : Casting indoor

michaelcopeland2
08-24-2015, 07:40 PM
OK I have a ? Win you guy cast indoors whst kind of filters do you all use or do you just open the door with the fan need help I cast in my shop and the smell is just too strong I had my shop door open which is a 10 foot door roll up door with window open and a squirrel cage fan blowing can anybody suggest a filter to blow it out where I don't have to sit here and breathe it in thank you guys I'm new to casting and reloading and I so far I'm loving it

williamwaco
08-24-2015, 08:02 PM
Do not cast indoors.

I do it on the porch or in the garage.

tazman
08-24-2015, 08:32 PM
I have a small fan a few feet away from me, set on low, blowing at my back or from the side depending on the day. This blows the fumes away from me where I don't have to breathe it in directly.
I also have a fan blowing out the door or open window. This keeps fresh air circulating into the room and avoids the buildup of fumes indoors.
On a nice day, I will roll the table outside to cast and will still use the fan unless there is a good breeze.
I don't have a filter setup and don't feel that I need one given the circulation I have.

groundsclown
08-24-2015, 09:09 PM
Yeah I'll probably get flak for this but...I cast indoors.
READ: CAST...Not smelt.

All smelting is done outside for what should be obvious reasons. Clean lead is then used in my bottom pour which I don't flux (never needed to) & thats done in the air conditioned back room of our house.
I also don't cast daily. Maybe once or twice every 4-6 months as needed.

But ya know what?
I don't use those sanitizer wipes for grocery carts the store offers.
I eat bacon.
I use real butter.
I take 4-5 advil instead of the recommended 2.

Yeah. I live on the edge ;)

bangerjim
08-24-2015, 09:14 PM
I NEVER cast or re-melt inside. No matter how hot is it here in AZ. I "do it" in the shade of a huge tree with my evap cooler blowing nice cool air at me.