PDA

View Full Version : New To Gas Checks

Hondo 60
08-11-2015, 12:02 PM
Trying to load some cast bullets in 7.62x54r.
Got some aluminum gas checks.
They seem to go on crooked & takes quite a bit of oomph to get em on straight.
Sizing seems to work well in crimping the gas check.
Are they supposed to go on with some difficulty?
Even with that, 2 of the gas checks fell off when I re-tumble lubed 'em.

This is my very first experience with gas checks.
But I've been reloading for about 6 years - 10,000 - 12,000 per year.

Mold is Lee CTL-312-160-2R
Sized .311

bangerjim
08-11-2015, 12:35 PM
I use ONLY commercial Cu checks. (Never had any luck with Al checks!) They do go on hard sometimes, depending on the quality of the casting, the maker of the check, and how you hold your mouth (!).

I find for small (224 & 30) I sorta snap the check on, then tap it with a hammer with nose down on semi-hard wood to fully seat the check, and then run it BASE first thru the Lee sizing die. Works 99.8% of the time. You get one occasionally that will be catty-whompus and you just throw it back in the casting pot.

I just Cu checked 500 224 NOE flat nose boolits and had only 8 that were rejects using the above method. Took about 10 seconds per boolit to check. And those little PITA's are very difficult to work with using most other checking methods. I then PC them all.

works for me...........all the time.

banger

MT Chambers
08-11-2015, 03:14 PM
I never have problems with commercial copper checks, unless the mold is cut wrong but even then I have a nifty tool from NOE that seats even tough checks straight and/or puts a bevel on the bullet base to seat checks easier.

Maven
08-11-2015, 06:40 PM