PDA

View Full Version : Correct Use of Patches?

alamogunr
08-09-2015, 01:10 PM
I've been cleaning guns for many years. I've never seen an explanation of the (more) correct way to use patches thru the bore. Cleaning kits come with both jags and loop type patch carriers. Most of the jags have a pointed pin on the end to hold the patch. I've always pierced the center of the patch and run it thru the bore. I've seen some explanations that recommend piercing a corner(sq. patch) and wrapping around the jag. This has not worked well for me.

When using a jag & patch that is supposedly the correct size for the bore, It is almost always very difficult to push thru the bore.

I have at times, wrapped a patch around a brush and relied on the brush bristles to retain the patch. This is the only method that retains the patch if it is pushed out the end of barrel.

The reason I asked the question is that I have been cleaning an old military rifle that had shot corrosive ammo and not cleaned. It was so bad that I tried to use hot soapy water to run in and out the barrel. A tight patch would not reverse in the bore. I assume that the corrosion was so bad that it would not allow reversing. I have finally gotten the barrel clean enough that the patch wrapped around the brush will reverse. I think the brush is worn down to where its use as a patch carrier is all I can use it for.

Any posts of your preferences will be appreciated.

Bigslug
08-09-2015, 01:21 PM
I'll use a jag if the patch will fit, or an eyelet tip if it won't. The eyelets are better for spinning a patch in the chamber of a bottlenecked cartridge. Since the brush and solvents are what's doing the work, and the patch is mostly just a final mop, I don't have a huge preference. Wrapping patches on brushes is a good way to kill a brush, so I reserve it for either brushes that are already dead, or if that's the only option at hand.

lobowolf761
08-09-2015, 01:43 PM