PDA

View Full Version : What to do with old .22lr rounds?

Javelin Dan
08-07-2015, 10:45 PM
First, let me apologize if I posted in the wrong place - I'm a newbie here. We are cleaning out my in-laws estate and I came across something like 50 old .22lr rounds, and I mean OLD! Could be 60 years old or more! How can I safely dispose of them? Would it be safe to try to remove these rimfire bullets in an impact type bullet puller? If so, is there a way to make the powder harmless once removed? Didn't seem like a good idea to just toss 'em in the burn barrel...:bigsmyl2:

baogongmeo
08-07-2015, 10:48 PM
Why not just fire them or give them to somebody to use?

Tom W.
08-07-2015, 10:49 PM
I don't think impact puller will work, not to mention that they are rimfire.... If they can't be fired, you may just be able to pry the bullets out with a pair if pliers or vise grips. The powder can be scattered on the lawn for fertilizer...

bowenrd
08-07-2015, 10:54 PM
I have some 22LR ammo my Grandfather bought prior to 1969 and they shoot fine.

If your ammo is not corroded shoot it.

lobowolf761
08-07-2015, 10:54 PM
Just pull the bullets with pliers and dump the powder where it is safe.

Minerat
08-07-2015, 11:00 PM
When I was a kid we pulled the bullets with pliers and then crimped 3 book matches in them and lit them. I still have all my finger but some times wonder why. [smilie=s: They come out pretty easy with a set of pliers and holding the case in hand. Then just dump the powder on the lawn and spray a shot of WD 40 (or any oil) into the case to make the primer inert.

Mk42gunner
08-08-2015, 12:04 AM
Why not just fire them or give them to somebody to use?

I gotta agree with this.

I found an old yellow box of Winchester Super X .22 Shorts in the barn that were probably from the sixties or so. About the only good thing I can say is they weren't rained on, I did have a couple of misfires, but the rest went off okay.

Robert

PbHurler
08-08-2015, 04:57 AM