PDA

View Full Version : First cast boolits

Tac9
07-24-2015, 10:42 AM
Hi everyone, so this is my first time casting boolits as well as my first post of this forum. I just wanted some general feedback on how they look. I had a bit of trouble getting them to fill our correctly for a little but kind of go the hang of it after a bit. These are 200gr .452 FN from a lee double cavity mold.

Thanks in advance!

-tac9

runfiverun
07-24-2015, 11:12 AM
first off welcome to the board.

your initial problem was getting the mold hot enough to cast well, once that come up to temp you started getting good boolits.
now you need to work on getting the bases and bottom drive band filled out better.

this generally requires either more heat on the sprue plate, or better venting.
try casting at a higher pace and opening the sprue plate with a gloved hand, the gloved hand allows you to feel for a consistent opening pressure and allows you to maintain a quicker more even casting pace.
and to control the pace by slowing down if things get frosty or speed up if things get shiny.
shiny from the mold is gonna happen but when the boolits cool off they will turn a galvanized satin grey color which is what you are looking for.

waco
07-24-2015, 12:01 PM
Very nice for your fist go at it. Listen to what R5R said. I know my first boolits didn't look that good! Congrats.

Tac9
07-24-2015, 12:36 PM
Thanks for the info runfiverun! I'll be sure to work at it. Would you guys think these are ok to lube, size and shoot?

Beagle333
07-24-2015, 12:46 PM
The ones with square or anywhere-near-square bases and driving bands, I'd lube em up and shoot em. The really rounded ones might not give you a good seal and you could get some leading and/or keyholing when you shoot them.