PDA

View Full Version : 1930 savage 99 takedown

slips73
07-17-2015, 11:28 PM
Hey everyone, been out of internet service for some time living in the boonies for the summer but used some today up in Coos bay, I recently purchased a nice savage 99 takedown (full thread) from 1930 in .300 Savage, I am new to these rifles but have always been interested in them. I had a few questions though.

I noticed that federal 150 gr factory ammo would show slight primer backing out.

BUT remington 150 gr core lokt factory ammo didnt back the primers out. The barrel is tight, in excellent condition as well as the internals and bolt/lever lock up. I shot about 10 rounds of the federal until I noticed that. It does shoot nicely with the remington ammo, I am concerned about the federal ammo damaging my gun. Why would two different types of factory ammo cause this? Should I be concerned? What are common things to look for on this gun,

As far as takedown goes, I very lightly tapped the forend tenon towards with a small derlin hammer to start the barrel unscrewing and unscrewed it, the threads look fine and no noticeable damage. the Barrel is very tight when screwed back on, I used the rubber mallet upon reassembly to set the barrel (is this ok? I didnt want to use the forend square metal hole for fear of cracking the wood)

Anything else please let me know. the gun is all original and serialized,It is drilled and tapped but looks well done.

https://farm1.staticflickr.com/507/19055028834_e8ebd24030_k.jpg
https://farm1.staticflickr.com/562/19681901741_3ccbe30bc3_k.jpg
https://farm1.staticflickr.com/489/19056460533_d059e7650a_k.jpg
https://farm1.staticflickr.com/440/19489307608_86d5974b17_k.jpg

jblee10
07-17-2015, 11:46 PM