PDA

View Full Version : Electrical Engineer needed

Greg
07-13-2015, 05:39 PM
I have a question for an Electrical Engineer

I want to run 100 amp 220V to a detached Garage, it is approx 80 feet between service entrance and fuse box in the Garage…

what size wire do I need;

I prefer Copper

of course aluminum would be cheaper, but I’ll buy Copper wire. and install in gray plastic

last question; it needs to have a ground rod at the garage also ?

I called the Power Company Engineering Dept, they no longer (provide/advise) the needed wire size !

thanks in advance

daniel lawecki
07-13-2015, 05:48 PM
Use 1awg wire for the service two hot one neutral use ground rod at garage with # 4 bare for ground. Mark neutral with white phasing tape.

JonB_in_Glencoe
07-13-2015, 05:48 PM
I am not an engineer or a lic. electrician...but I've built and wired industrial controls panels for a few decades.

It should be safe for me to tell you, 1 gauge.

But, depending on the type of wire/cable and it's type of insulation it has, you may be able to get by with 2 gauge.

farmerjim
07-13-2015, 05:56 PM
copper as above or 1/0 aluminum

Greg
07-13-2015, 06:04 PM
thank you for the help

P.S. wood shop tools, and of course casting, so no reason to scrimp on the wire, # 1 it is

again thanks for the help

Wolfer
07-13-2015, 11:19 PM
I am a licensed electrician and #3 copper is all you need to run 100 amp 80' away. Two hot wires colored black or black and red with a third wire phase taped white.
You should have a ground rod drove at the garage with #6 AWG bare solid copper going to it.

At the new panel you need to bond the neutral and ground wires. This is usually done with a green screw that comes with your panel. This should be the only place your white wire and your ground wire are connected.

I generally run 1-1/4 conduit in these applications.

bangerjim
07-13-2015, 11:25 PM
You do NOT need an electrical engineer!

Listen to the above electrician. That is his job!

Lloyd Smale