PDA

View Full Version : Constrcutive Criticism Requested (other forms allowed as well)

theleo
07-13-2015, 12:40 PM
I don't have any body around me that casts so I'd like to put it up to the forum to tell me what I could be doing better.144436144437144435
I casted these this weekend and while they look good to me I'm pretty new to this and don't really know squat. The alloy is 20/1 using dead soft medical shielding lead. Boolits with rounded edges along the lube grooves, rounded bases, and uneven thickness around the cavity were culled. How did I do?

jugulater
07-13-2015, 01:29 PM
looks pretty good to me, definitely worthy of being shot. lol.

you may benefit from running alittle hotter. most of my boolits are usually a tiny bit frosted.

you are on the right track for sure.

varmint243
07-13-2015, 01:35 PM
shoot those
make some more
repeat

sigep1764
07-13-2015, 01:45 PM
Umm, I'll take em if you really don't want them...

country gent
07-13-2015, 02:08 PM
Those look very good nice finish no wrinkles or radioused corners showing. Ver solid looking fillout. How is the wieght variation on the visual keepers? Weighing can tell you alot about the consistancy of your session also. not as important with close range plinking hand gun rounds but long range match rifle bullets it can make a big diffrence.

TenTea
07-13-2015, 02:08 PM
I think your bullets that survived the cull look to be stellar examples.
Shoot away!

leadman
07-13-2015, 02:10 PM
I agree that running the mold a little hotter will improve the fill out. I cast all of mine frosted. If you go hotter just let the sprue cool a little longer before cutting and dumping the boolits.
If you use a tumble lube or baked on coating the frosted surface helps the lube or coating stick.

nagantguy
07-13-2015, 02:28 PM