PDA

View Full Version : New

RustyFN
03-24-2008, 09:35 PM
I just wanted to say hi. I am new to this forum. I have been reloading for a couple of years but have never cast bullets. Well I just bought my first 1911 so guess what. I am going to do some reading and searching around here before I drive you all crazy with too many dumb questions. Nice to meet all of you.
Rusty

beagle
03-24-2008, 09:39 PM
Welcome to the "sport" or "disease" of casting bullets.

Ask away, we've all been there and done it./beagle

osage
03-24-2008, 09:43 PM
Welcome to the forum Rusty. Most of the time reading and searching has worked well for me. If not ask away.

RustyFN
03-24-2008, 10:13 PM
I was hoping to get started without spending a small fortune. Do you have to buy sizers and lubbers or are there molds that make the bullet the right size to start with that you don't have to size. I would be casting 45 for a 1911 either 200 or 230 grain.
Rusty

Leadforbrains
03-24-2008, 10:39 PM
Welcome Rusty. I am fairly new to this also, but I have been lurking here for awhile. This is a great site. I have been helped alot just by reading all the information posted here. I am also casting for both of my Springfield Armory 1911 pattern .45ACPs. I have only one mold at this time. It is a Lyman devastator hollow point mold. I am pouring them with an RCBS ladle. I am pan lubing and I am getting good accuracy and no leading. I am not currently using a sizer.
You can get into this hobby for as cheap or as expensive as you want to, but be forwarned casting Boolits can be very addictive.
You have come the right place to gain knowledge on how to increase your shooting enjoyment.

madcaster
03-24-2008, 10:44 PM
Rusty,
The Classics and Stickies section will be a great help I think.
Welcome to the madhouse!
Jeff

cohutt
03-24-2008, 10:45 PM
Heeey Rusty

Bout time

Some people cast the lee Tl bullets and shoot them unsized, ie let the barrel size them.