PDA

View Full Version : .380 problem

histed
06-22-2015, 07:19 PM
Any of you loading .380 with the Lee 356-95 RF? Loaded a batch for my 738 TCP and got a lot of failure to feed. I'm using CFE Pistol and started light (3.1 gr), so it may be that the loads aren't cycling the action properly OR I may have been limp wristing the pistol. Just trying to eliminate things and I have never used this bullet before, so I'm not sure if the TCP has a problem with flat-nose/semi-wadcutter style bullets. Any help is, as always, appreciated.

edctexas
06-22-2015, 08:43 PM
I use a NOE RN boolit 358242 which drops at 94gr. I PC coat the boolit and then size to 356. I use 2.2gr of Red Dot which cycles nicely. I have not used the powder you are using but it is slower than Red Dot. On the chart I use for reference from Hogdon CFE Pistol is #44 while Red Dot is #8. You might be able to use Hogdon's Clays, 700X or the Bullseye.

Ed C

reloader28
06-23-2015, 12:48 AM
I think thats the same version as my Ranch Dog 100 RF.
We had problems seating at .920 in our three TCP's. With that big nose, ours were hanging up on the slide lock and locking it open. I suppose we could seat them deeper (but they shoot good), so instead we took a Dremel and ground down the catch. It dont lock open now when the mag is empty, but no more problems.

I think that .920 is about the max length we can go in ours and the springs do seem pretty stiff for a couple hundred rounds.

Blackwater
06-23-2015, 01:04 PM
I think I'd definitely up the charge wt. Do you have a chrono? If not, you really ought to consider getting one. They can make answers to questions like these really easy and clear.

Eddie2002
06-23-2015, 01:27 PM