PDA

View Full Version : It's Been 1 Year

Ken in Iowa
06-16-2015, 08:39 AM
Since I have worked...

I have been fighting cancer for many years. The drugs were taking a toll with fatigue and 'chemo-brain.'

Things came to a head last June. I just couldn't work any more.

We knew that My condition automatically qualified for social security disability. It was just a matter of time to make the transition, 6 months to be exact.

I played my cards well during this time. My employer treated me very well all things considered.

Now that the deed is done, I still find myself trying to get used to things. My energy level is still low. At least I can do what I want with the energy I have.

lightman
06-16-2015, 09:12 AM
It sounds like you have a good attitude and are dealing with the situation well. You may have seen some of my post recently, but I was diagnosed with MS and also had to quit working. I'm still getting used to not working in lousy weather, the late night and weekend (what are those?) phone calls and being wet or cold all day or night.

Wishing you the best in your recovery. Go and do some of the things that you could not do while working.

country gent
06-16-2015, 10:48 AM