PDA

View Full Version : New here, Finally learned to cast

jwrowland77
06-10-2015, 08:08 AM
Been a Reloader for awhile, but finally cast my first boolits yesterday. I went and met a friend mine who casts a lot and has been doing it for 30+ years and he helped mentor me along the way.

I cast 9mm 120gr TC and some .357/.38 158gr boolits.

I can easily see me adding my moulds along the way, quickly.

I'm sure I'll have a bunch of questions, I'll be sure to hit up the stickies first.

Casting can be addictive.

michiganmike
06-10-2015, 08:24 AM
Welcome! I have been reloading for the past 35 years and casting for about the last 10. It is very rewarding, personally and financially. There is something about taking a dirty wheel weight and transforming it into a precision, shiny, accurate bullet that continues to amaze me.

dondiego
06-10-2015, 10:45 AM
I wish that I had a mentor when I started casting. HE saved you a lot of wondering, and answered your questions just by watching him do his work. Priceless!

jwrowland77
06-10-2015, 10:49 AM
I wish that I had a mentor when I started casting. HE saved you a lot of wondering, and answered your questions just by watching him do his work. Priceless!

Yeah, I had a mentor when I first started reloading and looked for one to start casting. My other mentor called me while I was casting and told me he had a bunch of 1# our lead ingots for me, as well as a bunch of lead sheets that came off roofs.

It was great to have a mentor to show me casting. I had a ton of questions, even after reading my Lyman 49th and Lee manuals. I'll be buying the Lyman casting manual very soon.

dondiego
06-10-2015, 11:07 AM
Welcome! You are in the right place. Read all you can.

Don

Wayne Smith
06-10-2015, 11:10 AM