PDA

View Full Version : Am I lucky or what?

Seeker
05-26-2015, 07:02 PM
I have a NM Blackhawk convertible and recently started casting my own. All I have right now for a mold is a Lee dbbl cavity 452-200-rf, but that is gonna change soon. Any how, the coww boolits drop at .4525 and 211 ish grns. I've never slugged the barrel or the cylinder throats even though I've resisted the temptation. I TL the boolits, run through a 452 sizer and TL them again. Yesterday I venture out back to the range and shoot over 125 rnds in .45 Colt and am quite pleased with the accuracy. 2" groups off the bench at 25 yrds.with a lot of boolit holes touching, and I was hitting clay pigeons placed randomly out to roughly 50 yrds. When I got done, I took the cylinder out and checked the barrel to find it clean as a whistle. Virtually no leading. Leading would have reared it's ugly head by now wouldn't of it? I'm a newbie to shooting lead and casting and quite frankly, I was expecting the worst after reading all the threads on a few different forums on how the NM Blackhawks all need to have the cylinders reamed. If it doesn't show any leading and shoots this well...I'm not gonna slug nothing.

Landshark9025
05-26-2015, 09:19 PM
I would. You go to the emergency room with your finger bent at 90 degrees sideways and tell them you just slammed it in a door what's the first thing they say? Let's xray it. Why? To have a better idea of what's inside and REALLY going on.

Cowboy_Dan
05-26-2015, 11:26 PM
I'm the type that would slug it just because I want to know. However, if what you're doing works, I wouldn't change the procedure. That is, unless slugging suggested a much better way.

Motor
05-26-2015, 11:52 PM
If it was a rifle I would have slugged it before even casting.

I don't think you got lucky. I think you wern't unlucky. It seems everything is as it should be with your BH. I'm definatly in the if it works don't mess with it crowd.