PDA

View Full Version : Lurking days are over

Alchemist
03-15-2008, 04:25 PM
Howdy to all you boolit makers!

I've been lurking around for a month or so, learning new stuff & re-learning some things I'd forgotten. It's been about 10 years since I did any casting, am I out of practice!

I cast for .38, 9mm, .44, .45, & .30 carbine. I ladle pour, and can't seem to get good fill-out unless I pressure pour. Alloy is usually ww/lino @ a 2:1 ratio. Don't have a thermometer, so unsure of temp....but hotter doesn't seem to make a difference.

What say some of you more experienced/practiced-up lead lovers??? :confused:

Alchemist

cbrick
03-15-2008, 04:54 PM
What say I? I say hi Alchemist, welcome to castboolits.

I'm not very experienced at ladle casting so I'll leave your question to those that are and I'll learn something too.

Rick

Ghugly
03-15-2008, 06:01 PM
If you're having the same problem with all of your moulds, I'd have to go with heat being the issue. Try getting the mould so hot that it starts casting frosted boolits. If that cures the problem, and I think it will, back off a bit 'till they lose the frosting. Or, load them that way, a little frosting never hurt a thing.

Another thing that is unlikely, but possible, is that your alloy was contaminated by a zinc wheel weight. 10 years ago that wasn't an issue, but it is getting to be more and more common.

Leftoverdj
03-15-2008, 06:05 PM
I've never had a lead thermometer. Drop a crumb of wax or paraffin onto you molten alloy. If it bursts into flames very quickly, you're probably too hot. If it does not catch fiire at all, it's certainly too cold. I haven't timed it, but 15 seconds sounds about right.

My first guess for poor fillout is always mould contamination, and if your moulds are either new or have been stored for 10 years, oil or grease has had plenty of time to get into the pores. I clean by boiling in soapy water at least half an hour and rinsing.