PDA

View Full Version : 45 ACP Boolit seating

ddredd99
05-02-2015, 08:53 PM
I am a newbie to this and have a question. I cast some .452 and lubed and ran though a sizer. My problem is when I seat the bullet, there seems to be like shaved lead sitting at the junction of where the brass and lead meet. Also. the point where the bullet meets the seating die has a ring also where the lube is being removed (it is about half way up the angled part of the bullet, I am using a 230 grain flat nose bullet) in this process, possibly due to hard insertion at this stage. I feel the case mouth is flared sufficiently, so not sure why this is occurring. I was wondering if anyone has any ideas as to why this is happening, and how to potentially correct this, or is this normal? Thanks!

depoloni
05-02-2015, 08:59 PM
Seating and crimping in one step?

smokeywolf
05-02-2015, 09:00 PM
If you're taper crimping with the seating plug in place, that would cause what you describe.

45 ACP must be crimped in a separate operation (for the sake of convenience, using a Lee Factory Crimp die), after the seating plug has done its job.

BNE
05-02-2015, 09:26 PM
Ths drives me crazy!! I use a Lyman "M" die to expand and flare the brass. It allows you to seat the bollit a little deeper and (I think) a little straighter. I then begrudgingly seated the boolit and then applied the crimp in two separate steps. You do not have this problem with jacketed bullets.

Once I figured this out, it was not that bad. (I had a lot of help from this sight also.)

It is important that you do not have that lead built up on the front edge of the brass. It will mess up your head spacing and your gun will jam.

Take your gun apart and put a factory round intot the barrel. Observe the "Plunk" sound and the depth that it goes into the barrel. If the rounds you are making do the same thing, your boolits will fuction just fine. Welcome to the addiction!

ddredd99
05-02-2015, 09:27 PM