PDA

View Full Version : Seating Depth - 40 S&W

DeskPop
05-02-2015, 08:14 AM
I'm just getting into Bullet Casting and my first mold is a Lee 6 cavity 175 gr TC. I loaded up 50 rounds as cast with the data from the 4th edition Lyman Cast Bullet Handbook for the Lyman #401638. I started with the minimum load of Blue Dot and increased .2 gr for each group of 5 rounds until I arrived at the max. When I shot these I kept watch for signs of excessive pressure and leading but saw none. My problem was with function. The gun jammed twice over the course of my testing. The rounds were stuck in my chamber pretty good, and it would not close. I had to tug pretty hard to get the slide to come back and eject the round.

I shoot a Glock 23 with a Storm Lake Barrel for my reloads.

I sized my next batch of bullets with my Lee pass through sizer. I loaded up 150 and had only one jam. It was not the same jam with the round stuck in the chamber. It seemed to just be a misfeed.

I'm loading to the prescribed OAL of 1.1". I'm thinking of not seating so deeply to see if that will make the feeding more reliable. It looks like OAL ranges all the way out to 1.135 with other bullets on the page. I intend to tinker with a few dummy rounds to make sure they will load into the mag and chamber. Here is what I want to make sure I'm thinking correctly about: As seating depth decreases pressures should decrease as well so I shouldn't need to go through the process of working up the load again, making sure there are no signs of excessive pressure.

Any comments on my assumption above or anything else you see which I might have missed along the way would be apprectiated.

runfiverun
05-02-2015, 10:19 AM
nope it should work that way.
and your doing it backwards kinda, the first thing I do is establish my oal and then do my load work up.