PDA

View Full Version : rifle? pistol? what load data? in a CVA CV2 scout 44magnum pistol

49FMarlin
05-01-2015, 07:27 AM
so I'm new to reloading
new to casting

hell new to shooting after 30yrs,
so PLEASE excuse my stupididty

gun in question
CVA CV2 Scout .44 magnum Pistol
1-20 twist 14inch barrel single shot break action

in my lyman 49th reloading man. it gives loads for 44mag in rifle-pistol and contender
in my lyman casting book it gives loads for 44 mag in rifle and pistol--(NO-Contender)

1-What powder loads do i use? rifle? pistol? contender ? for cast or J

in pistol
looking at the 44 russian loads, i see a lot of sub-sonic starting results,
same with the 44SW
but I'm ASSUMING these are revolver loads, with the gap between the cylinder and barrel,
im ASSUMING there will be a difference in my pistol as its a H&R or contender style long barreled pistol or short barreled rifle,

hence my stupidity you see in my above confusion

Sasquatch-1
05-01-2015, 07:46 AM
First thing you should do is read the front sections of your reloading manuals and completely familiarize yourself with all safety and reloading procedures. Then go to the site for the powder you plan to use and read any warnings. There is also load data on these sites.

I currently load 7.5 grns. of Unique behind a 240 to 265 grn. bullet. Either lead or jacketed and all homemade. This is a nice easy going load that I can shoot all day with no fatigue. For magnum loads I would suggest 18 to 21 grns. of 2400 (I have not used 2400 in quite a while mainly because it wasn't available in my area) or 22.5 to 23 grns of W296 0r H110. These are both magnum loads with magnum pressures so be careful.

Also don't forget to look at 44 Special loads which make great target loads in a 44. Remember, Dirty Harry, in Magnum Force said, 44 specials for practice and 44 mag to get the job done. (For those who will jump in to correct me it is not a direct quote.)

49FMarlin
05-01-2015, 08:11 AM