PDA

View Full Version : .32 Long Colt heel-base bullets......

Harry O
04-27-2015, 12:44 PM
I bought a new mould for the .32 Long Colt with heel-base bullets. It arrived Saturday. I cast with it this morning. Was able to cast about 600 keepers in 3-hours. That sure beats the Ideal 299155 hollow-base bullet mould with a maximum of one per minute, if everything works perfectly.

The mould was made by Old West Bullet Moulds. It is a close copy of the Ideal 299153. It arrived within two weeks of the order and looks great. More importantly, it casts great. I will be loading up a bunch this week to shoot next weekend. The real test will be then, however, the dimensions look like they should work OK.

Will update when I have some shooting experience with them.

Harry O
04-27-2015, 06:52 PM
I've shortened a bunch of my homemade .32LC cases (made from .32 S&W Long cases) for the heel-base bullet. The length of an original 32LC case with hollow-base bullets is supposed to be about 0.916" according to what I have read. I have a number of unfired original cases with two different head stamps. The real ones generally run closer to 0.910" instead of 0.916". The homemade cases have a length of about 0.924". For hollow-base bullets, I don't bother to shorten them to match the original cases.

I put one of the heel-base bullets in a homemade case. As expected, it was too long for the Colt small frame DA's I have. They were just barely too long for the chambers. There are some places on the Internet that say heel-base Long Colt cases were 0.820" long. I have nothing to verify that. Does anyone out there have an original .32LC heel-base cartridge you can measure for me?