PDA

View Full Version : convince me casting isn't a waste of time

stephen
03-13-2008, 01:17 AM
First off hello to all.
I'm new to casting, trying to start on the cheap, ie coleman stove & cast pot, after spending something like 4 hours I've ended up w/ around 100 bullets of terrible quality. Equipment was Lee 2 cav mould & ww lead. I'd flux, pour 2 batches and have to flux again. Gray ash type powder kept raising up. In the end none of the bullets filled out right, and they were real soft. HELP!
Thanks

bfox
03-13-2008, 02:09 AM
I am not the most knowledgable caster but I''ll try to help .
Are you sure you got the melt hot enough and the mold ?
If its not they will be wrinkly .

A thermometer would be nice to have .

I like to drop mine in a bucket of water , out of the mold .
Hardens them up some . Don't let any water get in the lead .
I found that out the hard way . Must of had some condensation on an ingot .
No harm but the tinsel fairy paid me a visit .

Keep it up you'll like it .
I am sure some more help than me will be posting soon .

Good Luck , Bill

osage
03-13-2008, 03:17 AM
stephen welcome to the group. I hope you stick around for a bit, read and use the search. I know I found many answers to problems I was having via the search.
Was the mold cleaning following Lee's instruction?
Preheating mold, increasing alloy temp may cut the number of casts need before you get good boolits.
You did not say if your alloy is in ingot form. I found that I still get some dirt coming to the top when remelting ww ingots to make my alloys. Your will also find the top of the melt will start to oxidize as soon as it is exposed to the air. The more you scoop it off the more it forms. I just move the dross enough to fill my ladle.
As my snow berms have been melting the last couple of days I have picked up many boolits that when dropped from the molds were not perfect. They worked fine for close work and plinking.
Hang in there, you'll be hooked before you know it.

jdhenry