PDA

View Full Version : 9mm with unique what a differens a coupel of 1/10s make

mdevlin53
04-09-2015, 10:16 AM
loading 9mm 125 grn LRN with Unique. I loaded up test rounds starting at 4 grains and by tenths went up to 4.4 grains. the 4 grains shot a pattern like a shotgun 4.1 a bit better til I got to 4.3 a nice group and 4.4 started to open up again. It never cases to amaze me how small a change in powder weight can make such a big difference in group size. the best group was about 3 inches at 15 yards which is not great but I am fairly new to pistol shooting and the gun is brandy new as well. I am sure as I practice I can tighten this up a bit.

JSnover
04-09-2015, 10:25 AM
Yup. One of the old-timers at my club told me years ago, 1 tenth probably won't change much. Bump it 2 tenths up or down if you want to see results. It is often wise to go in 1 tenth increments but you usually have to do it twice to see any real difference.

runfiverun
04-09-2015, 12:30 PM
what really sucks is when that one tenth is the difference between shooting on top of your sight or behind it.
the one behind the sight is more accurate, but the one on top goes where you want the boolit to go in the field.
and there ain't no elevation adjustment to the sight settings.

tazman
04-09-2015, 03:14 PM
what really sucks is when that one tenth is the difference between shooting on top of your sight or behind it.
the one behind the sight is more accurate, but the one on top goes where you want the boolit to go in the field.
and there ain't no elevation adjustment to the sight settings.

I been there. I have an auto that shoots like that. I hate to load a heavier slug just to raise the impact point but I may have to.

fredj338
04-09-2015, 03:15 PM
It's more the relationship of the powder to the smaller case volume of the 9mm. Smaller changes will make a bigger diff there.

Blackwater
04-09-2015, 03:29 PM