PDA

View Full Version : Broken bullet?

hawkeye1
03-10-2008, 09:34 AM
Broken Bullet?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I bought 500 cast 40 caliber 155 grain SWC bullets from a guy at work. They look good and are lubed with Lee Tumbele Lube.

The problem is that when I seated them in the case I had about 4 of them literally break in half at about the case mouth. I asked the guy that cast them and he said I was using too much crimp. OK. I backed the crimp ALL the way out, and seated some more. Again, about 4-5 bullets broke off at the case mouth. Not a crimp problem. Is this bullet too hard? Has anyone ever run into this? I've been casting and reloading for 20 years and have never come across a bullet that broke in half.

Any info would be appreciated.

good shooting

Scrounger
03-10-2008, 09:48 AM
I don't think hard is the right word. My first thought is what the heck did he use for alloy? Sounds like it is seriously contaminated to me.

hawkeye1
03-10-2008, 09:54 AM
For a little more info. I put one of these bullets on the concrete and smacked it lightly with a hammer. It broke in half from top to bottom! I could not believe it. I did the same thing with one of my own cast bullets and it just dented it.

Inside the bullet that broke it was very crystallized. Also, the bullets that broke when I seated them in the case were crystallized the same way. The broken bullets that broke in the case upon seating broke straight across at the case mouth. This is odd.

The guy that made these does use linotype in his alloy, but how much I do not know. Would using too much linotype make these bullets too brittle? or maybe just cooling too fast? Any ideas?

Thanks for the help

good shooting

jhrosier
03-10-2008, 10:36 AM
Hawkeye1,
I have a batch of lino that gives similar results, even when air cooled.
I have not broken any boolits when seating though.