PDA

View Full Version : How much time between casting, and sizing?

varminter66
04-02-2015, 08:53 PM
Hello Gentlemen. I am brand spanking new to the forum, and a little less new to bullet casting. I am learning like crazy, casting, and developing loads for my .357 Magnum.

I am also out of work on Medical Leave for the next month, so I am studying anything I can find on casting till the Dr clears me for lifting more than 5 lbs. That all said....

I noticed that bullet hardness can change for weeks after a bullet has been cast. Since that is the case, does sizing and lubing need to wait till the bullets "settle", too?

I am using Lyman #2 Alloy from Rotometals for all my casting, at this time. Also, I am using the Lee bullet sizing dies, and have tried both the Lee Liquid Alox lube, and the NRA alox lube formula, with best grouping results coming from the Lee lube, so far. My bullets use gas checks, and are the Lee 158 gr FP.

Any insight into this would be greatly appreciated!

Mike

JWFilips
04-02-2015, 09:01 PM
I think you should re-phraze question: how much time between casting & shooting:
For me 4 weeks minimum.....However you can and (for me) should size as soon as you can ( if you water quench)
Just what I do based on what I have experienced .......My 2 Cents

dragon813gt
04-02-2015, 09:07 PM
The answer as usual is that it's up to you. Certain alloys will test the strength of your lubesizer if you wait to long to size. I now store them in bulk unlubed. I size and lube when they will be loaded in short order. It's always easier to size ASAP after casting. But it isn't a necessity w/ certain alloys.

varminter66
04-02-2015, 09:12 PM