PDA

View Full Version : Please help me get started!

Beaverhunter2
03-09-2008, 01:20 PM
I’m extremely new at the cast bullet game. All I’ve ever cast were round balls for my squirrel rifle and anchors for my duck decoys. However, I’d like to start casting for my 1895M because I love to shoot it, can’t afford to keep feeding it jacketed bullets, and have been really impressed with purchased cast bullet performance out of my SRH .480. I got a good deal on a Lee .476-400gr coming that I'll be using to start casting for that pistol.

My rifle has ballard rifling, and after a bunch of research, I’d like to start out with one of RanchDog's TLC460 molds. I still haven’t decided on 350gr or 425gr. I hunt deer with a Remington 300gr JHP (Sorry! :oops:) at about 2300fps. I’m leaning toward the 425gr because it would give me better bullet option for hunting larger critters than I‘d want to shoot with the 300gr HP. If you have any thoughts on this, I’d appreciate it.

Now for a few more questions:

What type of lead alloy do you suggest I start with? Since I only have pure lead right now, the sky's the limit.

I was planning to use the Liquid Alox lube. It goes with the TLC-style bullet, right? Will this work OK with the .476 bullet, as well?

How important will it be for me to size the bullets when I'm starting out? I have a RCBS Rockchucker press. Will this work with the Lee sizing kits and will it seat the gas checks for the TLC460?

Sorry for all the questions! I think I may be falling into a new obsession! :eek: :wink:

John

HeavyMetal
03-09-2008, 02:10 PM
Welcome to Castboolits!

You've got a bunch O' questions! I'll start with the easy ones first!

The lee push through sizing dies will work with gas checks just make sure the base is flat when you put them on and push them through! The only way to get a gas check on a boolit is to run it through a sizing die to crimp it in place! Otherwise they can come off, guess what happens then?