PDA

View Full Version : lee sizer, or lubrisizer

mwohlenhaus
03-07-2008, 09:28 PM
I am just getting started in casting and am wondering if the lee sizing dies are adequate, or if i should just look for a used lubrisizer I was looking at the lyman lubrisizer kit, that includes book, furnace, sizer, and lube. Compared to the lee liquid alox lube and the sizing die that uses a standard press. I would like to get into it at a level that would allow me to produce enough bullets and allow me to expand my operation without buying another $130 worth of equipment.. Any recoomendations are appreciated.

Ranch Dog
03-07-2008, 09:39 PM
I use them and love them but I only work with about 12,000 bullets a year!

This is a frequent question/topic on this forum so you might also run a search.

Le Loup Solitaire
03-07-2008, 10:22 PM
Hi,
Whether boolits have to be sized is a separate theme in itself, but putting that aside for the moment, let us say that generally they are and for sure thay have to be lubed. Lee sizers are very reasonably priced and work well, but the bullets have to be lubed separately by getting the lube into the lube grooves. This is done by standing the boolitz on their bases in a shallow tin or tray and pouring the lube in around them until the level is up to the top of the highest groove. Then the boolit is pushed out of the lube or better yet cut out of the lube with a type of cutter usually made out of an old shell casing with the back cut off. An alternate method is to tumble them in Lee's Liquid Alox which works pretty well too. The lubed boolit is then pushed nose first up thru the Lee sizing die of whatever diameter you need. Simple, economical and thoroughly practical but a bit slow and a litle messy. Bottom line though is that it works very well.