PDA

View Full Version : shotshell shot composition

GaryM
03-07-2008, 09:00 PM
I am new to casting and been using wheel weights but just ran across another source of lead.
I have access to a local American Legion hall where they have meat shoots and the target area is full of lead shot, I mean hundreds of pounds just lying there in piles. My question is this worth collecting? What is it made of? I did smelt a few pounds and poured a few bullets. The bullet poured from the shot weighed 192 grs where as the same mold with wheel weights weighs 198 grs.
It did pour a very nice full and clean bullet but the pot had a kinda strange oily yellowish tinge on top, not bright shiny silver like lead does.
Anyway, any idea what this is made of and is it worth while to cast with it.
Thanks.
Gary

Ricochet
03-07-2008, 09:49 PM
According to the table here: http://www.lasc.us/CastBulletAlloy.htm

You're probably looking at somewhere between 2-4% antimony with a bit of arsenic. Good stuff for quench hardening, and likely good stuff for most pistol bullets as is.

The yellow stuff's probably mostly lead oxide.

JIMinPHX
03-08-2008, 01:03 AM
Shot composition varies quite a bit, especially these days, but I have yet to see any that wasn’t excellent for casting boolits. Grab all the shot that you can while you still can. It’s great stuff to work with. You can always trade it off to others here on the board if you don’t use it yourself.

A few shot references -
http://www.maycoindustries.com/lead_shot.htm
http://www.gravitaindia.com/leadshotsballs.html

HeavyMetal
03-08-2008, 01:14 AM
Seems to me I remember someone saying lead shot had a higher content of Arsenic than antimony This was added as a hardening agent to boost the effect of the antimony!

If you happy with the boolits your getting from this lead source go a head on. However they may be quite brittle and the same source suggested that lead shot be used as a "hardener"
for ww alloy not as a sole source for boolit metal.