PDA

View Full Version : I'm a little confused on barrel slugging and picking the right boolit.

rmcelwee
03-19-2015, 08:51 AM
First topic - So I slugged my Mosin PU Sniper last night. I used a 1/4 oz lead sinker and wooden dowels. I started at the muzzle and worked my way down. I took my calipers and tried to measure the largest part of the boolit. Most measurements were .311 but there were a few places that I got up to .313". I don't understand what I am looking at. I slugged it again and got similar results. I was careful not to drop the boolits when they came out of the rifle. I'm sure I could have disfigured them somehow but I don't really think that was the issue. Is the larger portion some kind of deformity that happens when you pound the slug through the barrel? Again, I was pretty careful when the bullet exited the barrel.

Second topic - Assuming that I do have a .311 bore, what mould do I want to get? I have been looking at the Lee C312-185-1R. I am new to casting and have only done 45 ACP so far. When I did them I PC'd the boolits and then sized them down. I'm guessing that if the Lee will do .312" then I will PC them and size them down to .311". I'm thinking that the full length sizing/priming die for 7.62x54r will make the case necks so that the .311 sized boolit will fit but I might have to get the Lee Universal Flaring die to open it up a bit. Any need for a gas check?

Any help you guys can give me would be very much appreciated!

Wayne Smith
03-19-2015, 08:55 AM
First, get rid of the wood dowels for slugging! There is a stickie somewhere on the site about getting a stuck dowel out of a bore. It is not fun - they break cross grain and jam. Get yourself a brass rod or a steel rod and wrap it in duct tape to do this in the future.

Secondly, where and how long are the larger sections??

largom
03-19-2015, 09:03 AM
I would use a micrometer instead of calipers for measuring the slugs. Second the "Do not use" of wooden dowels.

Larry

country gent