PDA

View Full Version : Barrel Breakin

7br
09-30-2005, 02:43 PM
I have a new .22 Hornet barrel on the way. This will mainly be used for cast because I have to be difficult. I am sure this has been covered numerous times, but what is the best procedure for breaking in a barrel? Do I start off with jacketed ?

Fireball 57
09-30-2005, 09:43 PM
7br: I am not an expert, but I maybe able to help ya. If, you intend to shoot a mixture of jacketed and cast bullets through your Hornet, then by all means, start a cleaning and conditioning regiment. Start with a single jacketed shot and clean the barrel from the chamber using a proper bore guide for the next five shots. Then, clean every ten shots until the patches come clean up to the first fifty. Clean every twenty shots for the next one hundred shots. If, you wish to load and shoot cast, the barrel must be clean of all copper fouling as that will effect the accuracy of your cast. I have a 03, with a beautiful hand -carved birdseye maple stock given to me by a former National Palma Champion, since passed away. It has a new medium contour Douglas XXX competition barrel in 06. Since the previous owner gave me all his cast, sized, lubed and gas checked, I have NEVER shot anything but HIS cast bullets through this rifle-about five-thousand! Breakin this barrel, as we go along, with cast is my forte. Good luck and help another shooter or new shooter. :smile:

762cavalier
09-30-2005, 10:00 PM
I'll probably catch some flak for this but I've read numerous articles about barrel break in and conditioning that basically say that it is a waste of time. I have a ruger 9mm that i bought new and it delivered 1" holes at 25 yards out of the box I proceeded to blow about 1000 rounds through it and it still delivered 1" holes at 25 y ds. after first cleaning it produces 1" at 25 yds . I have about 1000 more rounds through it and barrel accuracy has not changed.