PDA

View Full Version : Thin steel pot for smelting 500lbs at once?

Oreo
03-06-2015, 10:20 AM
I have a bunch of misc. range scrap ingots that I'd like to melt into a single 500lb batch for the sake of consistent alloy. The cheapest pots of such volume are at Walmart. They are stainless steel but the steel is pretty thin and 500lbs is a lot of weight. I'm thinking the pot would probably do it but what do you guys think? Any engineers here who can tell me how thick a stainless pot wall has to be for enough strength?

carbine
03-06-2015, 10:44 AM
I am not an engineer. Lead melts at 6-700 degrees. steel is good for approx. 2,000.

500 Lbs of lead could be as small as 1.5 feet cubed about 3.3 cu ft Sounds laike a big lobster pot IF it and your burner can take 500 lbs.
Go easy

dilly
03-06-2015, 10:59 AM
All I can say is if you're worried about it, don't do it. A pot failure would be not only very costly but also very dangerous. 500lbs of lead can hold enough heat to start a pretty mean fire. This is an area where one should err on the safe side. If you'll be melting 500 lbs at a time often it's worth getting an expensive but very solid pot, and if you're not it's not a big deal to do a few different batches with a smaller, less expensive but still very solid pot.

I wish I were an engineer with the appropriate calculations to give you more useful information.

rodsvet
03-06-2015, 11:16 AM
I must be reading the post wrong. Even if you could get 500 pounds melted in one batch, how would you pour or handle it? I must need more sleep. Rod

D Crockett
03-06-2015, 11:41 AM
Oreo I do not have a pot that will do 500 but I do have one that will do around 200 or I can make you one that will hold around 250 but that is a lot of lead that your burner will have to hold if you have a turkey fryer from Wal-marts I would have the out side frame of it reinforced with angle iron. in this game you have to think SAFETY SAFETY SAFETY give me a pm if I can help you D Crockett

FLYCUTTER