PDA

View Full Version : new caster needs help

hound-1
02-25-2015, 05:19 PM
Hello, I'm new to casting, and I'm having trouble getting my marlin 30/30 to shoot. I have both the noe 311-165 and the lyman 311041.I've slugged my bore 2x and have gotten 308.5 . I'm using lyman #2 from rotometals. I've sized and gas checked at .311 .I sort them to less then + or - 1 grain to rule that out. I get no leading from what I can tell, when I clean it I just get tons of " black "stuff. I have tried 3 different powders, IMR 3031 , IMR 4198 , and IMR 4227,and more loads then you can shake a stick at. Most groups average about 4-5 inches at 50 yards, forget it at 100. I had one group that had a lot of promise 27gr.IMR 3031 with the 311-165, 3/4" at 50, but it will print the first 1or 2 shots from a cold barrel about 8+ inches high, the rest where I'm aiming. It does this every time.no other loads do this and I've gone up/down 1/2 grain at a time but the accuracy isn't there. The gun is scope sighted and micro groove. I really want to use cast for my deer hunting, but not at 50 yards or less:bigsmyl2:
any Ideas on what I'm doing wrong or what I can do different.

Yodogsandman
02-25-2015, 06:16 PM
Sounds like you've done a fine job and you must be frustrated by your results. I would try that good load without cleaning the barrel each trip. Also, try a different lube, like 50/50 alox/beeswax available from Lee, Lyman or others. There's a lot of other great commercial lubes and homemade lubes to try, too.

altheating
02-25-2015, 06:36 PM