PDA

View Full Version : load density and light loads

dnepr
03-01-2008, 07:51 PM
I am about to try some paper patch bullets . I am very new to paperpatched bullets in centerfire cartridges . I want to start with light loads but 100% load density is supossed to a very good idea with PP cartridges. I am thinking of using dacron filler to top up the rest of the case to achieve 100% load density. has anyone tried this before? what were the results?

45 2.1
03-01-2008, 09:18 PM
I wouldn't use filler for this at all. You don't say which cartridge and patched boolit specs your useing. It will make a difference.

dnepr
03-02-2008, 05:15 PM
I am trying these bullets in the 250 savage case. not my first choice for a paper patched cartridge, but I got myself into this by my ussual over active enthusiasm. After reading Ross Seyfreid's article on paper patching and seeing his molds for straight sided PP boolits I got all fired up and did a check of the goodies in the shop. I machined up a universal holder and sprue cutter for these machined molds. I also had some 1" aluminum round in the shop so