PDA

View Full Version : Hollow Points

Dickieray
02-16-2015, 12:26 AM
I'm new to casting hollow points. I have a NOE 360 200 grain aluminum mold and my boolits are wanting to stick to the pins.
The cavities are filling out well and the projectiles just don't want to turn loose from the pins. They turn loose from the cavity fine.
I smoked the pins along with the cavities before the first use.
Any tips would be appreciated.

RobS
02-16-2015, 12:29 AM
Pins need to be hotter. You may try to preheat your mold on a hotplate or dip the corner of the mold as a last option into the hot alloy. You may also need to increase your alloy temp but also try some of the sprue plate lube on the pins as that can help. New pins often times do this and just need more time to break in but his can be a real PITA.

Beagle333
02-16-2015, 12:31 AM
Make sure the pins are very smooth. If not, spin them by hand in some very fine sandpaper (600, 800, or 1000) until they are like a mirror on the tips. Then get them hot. Turn up the alloy and cast fast. You gotta get those pins hot and they'll let go. :cool:

dragonrider
02-16-2015, 12:42 AM
After you preheat your mold by dipping a corner in your lead pot for about 1 minute or until the lead no longer sticks to the mold then use a propane torch to heat the pins a bit more, not red hot but hotter than the mold. That should help. Also as said above make sure the pins are smooth with no burrs.

fredj338
02-16-2015, 04:32 PM
Polish the pins as noted. You can also try a thin film of 2 stoke oil, very thin.

Dale53
02-16-2015, 05:24 PM