PDA

View Full Version : First Cast in 40 S&W

mnsharpshooter1984
02-12-2015, 07:16 PM
I just started shooting some cast bullets out of my Glock 22. I installed a Lone Wolf barrel just for the sake of shooting lead and the added chamber support is a big bonus. Cases have a much smaller bulge in them with the aftermarket barrel. I wanted to try some boughten cast before i invest in a mold so I bought a bag of 500 180 gr TCFP cast bullets from Rocky Mountain Reloading. They are supposed to be pre lubed/sized w/ brinell hardness of 18. My buddy advised me to still tumble lube them with Alox (which everyone on the chat room said was junk). I measured quite a few bullets and they ranged from .4005 to .401.
The load I worked up to is:
180 gr RMR TCFP
5.4gr of Silhouette
Federal SP match primers
COL 1.135"
Ave Vel 902fps
ES 14fps
Accuracy was phenomenal. Did not see any leading after 25 rds. No pressure signs. Silhouette meters incredibly well and the bullets were very consistant as I rarely see velocities that are this consistant.

My questions are:
Is 900fps too fast? Can a guy push them harder?
What is the solid blue lube ring on these things and am I wasting my time additionally tumble lubing them?
Why does Alox suck and what's a good alternative?
I'm sorry, I'm new to cast and I searched and searched for answers to no avail so here's my first post. Thanks in advance for any advice.

willie_pete
02-12-2015, 07:21 PM
Why do you want to go faster? Are you looking fo speed or accuracy? The blue ring is lube. You don't need to do anything else. An extreme spread of only 14 is very good. Unless you have a "need for speed", I would stay where you are if the accuracy is ok.

WP

Love Life
02-12-2015, 07:22 PM
A) Alox works well for me, it just never dries. I've had success with it in many calibers.
B) Look for pressure signs. Those will let you know when you are pushing them to hard.
C) The solid lube could be any lube brand to be honest. Maybe LBT, maybe Magma, maybe TBA.