PDA

View Full Version : Sizing Boolit and Expanding Neck for 308W

edctexas
02-03-2015, 02:48 PM
I am new to cast in rifles. I have taken a chamber cast and know how to correctly arrive at the true dimensions. The true bore is 0.3005 and the true groove is 0.3085 (measured with Mitutoyo digital calipers on the casting). What should be the right diameter to use for sizing the boolit. I am starting with boolits dropping at 0.3100.

What size expander should I be using to load the boolit into the case? The chamber over the neck is 0.3456. In front of the case edge, there is what I would call a freebore that is 0.268 in long. This is 0.3095 dia. This dimension tapers into the groove and land at that 0.268 inches from where the case neck has to stop.

I need to buy a Lee push thru sizer and a new method of expanding the case neck to have some neck tension on the sized boolit. Any help would be appreciated.

Ed C

bhn22
02-03-2015, 03:04 PM
Since your throat is at .3095, I'd size to .310. Try seating a bullet in an empty case and chambering it in the rifle. If it chambers and unchambers freely, .310 would be my preferred starting point. For neck expanding, I use Lyman M dies. They expand the necks, and allow you to flare the case mouth as much, or as little as you desire. I'm assuming you're using a bore riding bullet design, so also make certain your bullet noses enter the rifling with only light engraving at the most, so around .300 is where I'd want the bullet noses to be. You're likely to get a lot of differing opinions on some of this.

popper
02-03-2015, 04:51 PM
310, M die (or equal - someone here is making them now), flare with the Lee universal tool. You didn't state the boolit you want to use, GC & >15 BHN. They tend to like 160-180 gr.

RayinNH
02-03-2015, 05:10 PM