PDA

View Full Version : First Attempt with New NOE and Accurate Aluminum Moulds

don45
02-02-2015, 05:11 PM
This is my first attempt with two of my new aluminum molds, one NOE two cavity for 44 Mag (434421) and the other Accurate two cavity for my 458 Win (460350V / 460360J). Also my first time using my new PID.
The alloy uses is 95-2.5-2.5. I pre-heated the mould to 300 deg. and the lead to 720. Fluxed with sawdust. The one on the left is sized, other 4 as cast. Almost all had real trouble filling out, even when they became frosted. On the 44 I used the NOE thermometer probe and it reached 500 deg. At one point I turned the PID down to about 680. Still frosting without good fill.
I have been casting since BC and don't recall having this much difficulty. Other than a Brass 45 Auto mould from Accurate, all my moulds have been iron, from single cavity to four's. Also, almost all of my casting has been either pure COWW from 30 years ago+, or Lyman No 2 Alloy. BHN is 10-11 according to SAECO.
Prior to use, per NOE instructions I did the heat-cool cycle three times, cleaned blocks with carb cleaner followed by a good scrubbing with dawn in hot water.

Any thoughts/ suggestions about what I'm doing wrong?

Love Life
02-02-2015, 05:13 PM
Give it another couple of tries and cast fast and hot. You might still have some oil in the mould? I also prefer Iron and I am happier than a duck eating June bugs that Hardline Industries is around with their iron moulds.

SwedeNelson
02-02-2015, 05:56 PM
don45

Did you try to lightly smoke the cavities with a BIC Lighter?
Very light - like a sun tan

Bullet maker, maker
Swede Nelson

rockrat
02-02-2015, 06:08 PM
Have a good steady stream of hot lead going in the mould? Looks like the mould might be a little dirty still and maybe a bit cold.

popper
02-02-2015, 06:15 PM
a bit cold.

cbrick
02-02-2015, 06:34 PM