PDA

View Full Version : First time to cast!

MattnSue2
01-23-2015, 09:44 AM
Hi, This is my first time to post here and I want to ask some questions based on the first time I have cast some bullets.

I am casting bullets for my marlin .30-30 and I am using the NOE 165 gn mold FN, GC(recommended by many here).

I cast a total of 146 bullets using mixed wheel weigh alloy. I weighed the bullets to see how uniform the weights were and I wanted to ask what kind of variation I should expect in bullet weight.

My bullets weighed on average 169 gn with a SD of .5 The % relative standard deviation is .3 (I don't know if this is applicable or not).

My heaviest bullet was 170.1 gn and lightest was 167.3 gn

At what point do you consider bullets to have to much "spread"? Do you take the average and then use only those that are + or - the SD of the average? If I did that, in my case I would have to recycle 38 bullets which fall outside of the 169 + or - .5

What is the "rule of thumb"?

Also, I do not have any dies yet for loading the .30-30. What dies do you recommend? I see there are 2 die sets all the way to 4 die sets....I am confused as to the pros and cons of each.

Thanks for any thoughts.

Matt

btroj
01-23-2015, 09:49 AM
For general use I don't weigh, I just sort out the obviously flawed bullets. If I want top accuracy I may weigh sort into .2 or .3 gr lots.

As a beginner I suggest you weigh less, cast and shoot more. Sort out some flawed bullets and shoot them. How do those groups compare to those with "perfectly" formed bullets? Learn how to increase the good/bad percentage.

As For dies, my Lee 30-30 dies are doing a very nice job for me. Don't forget that you need some sort of a neck/mouth expander to prevent shaving bullets on seating.

My NOE mould required me to trim brass a bit short to crimp in the crimp groove. Make a dummy round and see how long you can make a round and easily get it to chamber fully.

trapper9260
01-23-2015, 10:57 AM