PDA

View Full Version : 450 Lyman

lolbell
01-19-2015, 08:02 PM
I'm new to bullet casting but not handloading. I've been trying to ease into the casting sizing thing as cheap as possible just to see if it was something I would enjoy doing. Retirement is not to far away and I thought I might have time enough to cast. Right now I barley have time enough to load and shoot as much as I like. A couple of years ago I started scrounging tire weights at the local shops. I've amassed about 500lbs of weights which I have smelted and poured into 3 lb ingots. A few days ago a loading friend/mentor and I were talking casting. He asked if I would be interested in buying some lead from him that he had cast into ingots years ago. We agreed on a price of $.75 a pound. When I went to pick it up it was more than I had anticipated. After we got it loaded he asked if I would be interested in a lubrisizer. What I owed him for the lead liked $10.75 being even $400. He told me it was mine for the 10.75. I brought it home sight unseen. I was surprised when a week later I got around to opening the box and checking it out.127985127986 I think I got a good deal at $10.75. To date all I have are tumble lube molds with the exception of a RCBS mold for a 41 mag. I am eager now to clean the Lyman op and try it out.

That's a .430 die, top punch and gas check seater with it and an extra piston

BruceB
01-19-2015, 08:50 PM
Heck of a deal.

I've been casting since '66 and still see no need for anything "better" than the 450s I now use.

The .431 die should do well for anything in .44 caliber, at least to start.

Just a few days ago, I used a Lyman 450 to size and lube some tumble-lube-type 9mm bullets, and at a true .358" the process worked fine. All the lube grooves filled neatly and sizing was perfect.