PDA

View Full Version : Got a question on Ladle pouring

mugsie
02-22-2008, 09:10 PM
I'm new to this - having cast my first time last weekend (gonna do it again tomorrow if the weather clears). I've been reading about pouring with a ladle and everything says hold the ladle, put the mold against it, then rotate the ladle up (pouring the lead out) while the spru hole is against the ladle. This works for the first pout, but what about the second cavity? I need to now lift the ladle and direct pour into it yes? Why not just pour directly into each spru hole? Wanna give ma a pointer or two? Thanks....

Wayne Smith
02-22-2008, 09:25 PM
You can do it either way. The first way is usually used when casting large chunks of lead for big caliber BP rifles - the pressure of the lead in the ladle is needed to fill out the mold. Those are almost universally single cavity molds. For smaller boolits you can use it either way.

montana_charlie
02-22-2008, 10:08 PM
rotate the ladle up (pouring the lead out) while the spru hole is against the ladle. This works for the first pout, but what about the second cavity?
You tilt the spout away from the mould to leave a good sprue, then remove the ladle completely.
Return it to the pot for a quick stir and refill.

By the time you are ready to pour the second cavity, the first sprue has hardened.

At least that's the way to do it when you have two large cavities..
CM

Bent Ramrod
02-22-2008, 11:21 PM