PDA

View Full Version : First Casting Session

sathington
01-09-2015, 08:02 PM
Hello CastBoolits crowd.

I've lurked for a while and am a member of some other gun forums. Had a hankering to start casting when I started shooting, but it took quite a while to get over my fears of it. When I put the thermometer in the pot today and it was up at 850 I almost had a panic attack. I'm sure I'll get used to it. Anyways, I bought my casting equipment more than a year ago, but just been to chicken to get started. I finally decided today was the day, and I got it done. It was a rocky start at first, but I think I got about a hundred bullets cast or so. Most are pretty gross, mainly wrinkly (I think my lead was too hot) but I found at least one that looked good to my novice eye, so I'll consider it a success. Here's some mediocre pictures:

http://i1301.photobucket.com/albums/ag104/mingus1921/IMG_20150109_144157213_zpsdfvg05mt.jpg (http://s1301.photobucket.com/user/mingus1921/media/IMG_20150109_144157213_zpsdfvg05mt.jpg.html)
http://i1301.photobucket.com/albums/ag104/mingus1921/IMG_20150109_151515465_zpsigsvcdsr.jpg (http://s1301.photobucket.com/user/mingus1921/media/IMG_20150109_151515465_zpsigsvcdsr.jpg.html)
http://i1301.photobucket.com/albums/ag104/mingus1921/IMG_20150109_151619066_zps54h3crwv.jpg (http://s1301.photobucket.com/user/mingus1921/media/IMG_20150109_151619066_zps54h3crwv.jpg.html)

The mold is a Lee six cavity copy of the Keith SWC, at least according to my memory. I bought it from a dandy fella named Jim Luke, who posts here I believe. Anyways, looking forward to sharing some pictures of better bullets in the future.

varmint243
01-09-2015, 08:23 PM
Lead too hot makes a bullet frosty
Mould too cold or oil in the mould gives wrinkles
Accuracy comes from the bullet base, make sure it's flat and crisp
a little nose wrinkle hurts nothing for accuracy in a handgun

Scharfschuetze
01-09-2015, 08:25 PM