PDA

View Full Version : Plumber's teflon tape - a paper patch for high vel loads?

michiganmike
01-01-2015, 11:22 PM
Did that title get your attention? The idea is from an old book I own. It is titled The Art of Bullet Casting: from Handloader & Rifle magazines 1966-1981. The book is printed by Wolfe and the copyright date is 1981. This book and the Speer Reloading Manual Number Ten served as primers when I began reloading and bullet casting. Both are well read.

The The Art of Bullet Casting contains about 66 articles that covers everything from the basics to the esoteric (Fitting Bullets to Schuetzen Barrels). This book of articles helped me, a complete novice, develop a solid understanding of casting bullets. It is now dated in some respects, e.g. no personal computers, or ballistics software.

Question: What book has been your "go to" book as you learned the art of bullet casting?

Note: I really need to use the search feature before I post a question. The issue has been brought up and discussed a number of times already.

Back to the title, this article by Curtis L. Wilson conducted experiments with the 30-06, the .308, 30-30, 7X57, 45-70 and the .243. IMR 3031, BLC2 are two powders named as used in the tests. Velocities between 2,200 (30-30) and 2,820 pfs (30-06) are reported.

Mr. Wilson reported "...no leading of bores or signs of excessive pressure." He later refers to a "mirrorlike clean bore." While he refers to one load (.243, 96 gr. gas check Loverin designed Lyman bullet) yielding "good accuracy" he doesn't give the actual size of the group. He does show photos of three targets for 45-70 loads from 100 yards which appear to be between 1 and 2 MOA.

This is the only article I have read regarding the use of Teflon plumbers tape as a patch. Apparently the idea didn't take off.

Does anyone know anything more about this practice? Has anyone in this forum esxperimented with Teflon tape as a patch? I would enjoy learning more about this practice.