PDA

View Full Version : help with casting vs powdercoat.

oopso
01-01-2015, 01:17 PM
I am new to casting but hesitate as the more I read the more I become cautious. Been reloading for years and literally give away 80% of what I reload. I do this as I want to encourage young people to get into shooting and enjoy the sport/hobby/pastime ect. If I find a young married who wants to shoot I give him/her ammo at my cost as I could not afford shooting for pleasure till I was in my late 30`s.
Thanks to Santa I now have every thing to start casting pistol bullets. I have been chasing COWW for a year and have a good supply. (500lbs) When making ingots I record the date smelted, weight and BHN of the ingot. The majority of what I smelt works out to be 10 to 12 BHN.
I intend to powder coat everything I cast. I have had leading from some commercially produced bullets and we all know its a pain to clean.
Some of what I read here, u-tube online and LASC leads me to believe if I powder coat 12+ will work if properly coated and quenched.
I always load halfway between minimum and max loads. Never more as its field use. Not competition or hunting.
Some say no way.
Some tell me "My great grandpa cast stuff over a campfire"
The charts I find here, LASC, Missouri Bullet and other sites all have some variances and lead me to believe I should be working with something 18+.

1. Should I even be supplying bullets to someone else? (I want to promote shooting and ownership. )
2. is it reasonable to cast bullets at 12-BHN and powder coat?
3. Should I buy some hard cast or antimony and beef up my COWW. I do pistol only and all calibers from32acp to 45 colt.

I would like to keep tis a K.I.S.S. (keep it simple stupid) project so maybe I should stop reading and crank up the pot.

JonB_in_Glencoe
01-01-2015, 01:35 PM
1. That's your call, many here don't do that for liability reasons.

2. Yes, and I say even softer alloys are fine...lots more to alloys than hardness.

3. I wouldn't.