PDA

View Full Version : First time making ingots and got some questions? Some pics also.

usmc0811
12-28-2014, 08:17 PM
Well this is my first time making ingots. I acquired about 150 lbs. of used wheel weights from local shops and a small amount of lead pipe from a friend. I just got a turkey fryer for Christmas that I am using the burner for my heat source. I also picked up a brand new Dutch oven from a local outdoor/hunting shop. I started by melting down the lead pipe then when that turned to liquid I added the wheel weights a little at a time. All looked good but as I started to skim off the dross and would see nice shinny silver lead it would quickly turn back to a goldish/brass color on top. I would continue by adding some wax to flux the lead, let it burn off then scrape the pot and remove the impurities. I did this several times but it would still go back to the same color, and now turning a rainbow color like blue/purplish kind of like motor oil on a wet road with that rainbow shine. Did I do something wrong? did I have it to hot and maybe melted another alloy with my lead? The Dutch oven was new and had an oily film on it, would that cause this? Either way I skimmed it off and before it turned back to that color I pored it into my ingot molds. Should I have just kept fluxing with the wax till it was all gone? I'm very confused, not to sure if I messed them up. I have seen lots of great videos on line and never saw this happen. Would I still be good to go to melt them in a furnace and make target bullet or are they trash? Ill try to post some pictures. Also I had no way of telling the temperature because I had no thermometer125567125566125564125568125565 125569.

BK7saum
12-28-2014, 08:21 PM
You likely overheated the alloy a bit and possibly burned out some tin and antimony. The blue and purple are indicative of pure or too hot. The quick change to gold is indicative of rapid oxidation of tin, again, too hot.

4719dave
12-28-2014, 08:28 PM