PDA

View Full Version : deer movement

white eagle
12-06-2014, 01:22 PM
curious
do you see more deer moving in the morning or in the evening in cold weather winter months?
lately I have not seen alot (any) deer in the morning however the general deer season has just ended.

DougGuy
12-06-2014, 01:36 PM
In Virginia they will stand out in the fields all day on Sunday before opening day.. They get their "antlergram" from the state telling them when opening day is and you won't see them for 2 weeks. They seem to know every year when to lay low.

NSB
12-06-2014, 01:41 PM
From my experience, deer movement becomes much more nocturnal as the days get shorter and shorter. Once you pressure them with hunting, it becomes mostly nocturnal. I've been putting game cameras up now for about ten years and from the thousands of pictures I've gotten off of my lease, this is proven to be the case. I only have four people hunting on my lease, and it's a pretty good sized lease, and we don't bother the deer much at all by walking or riding ATVs. Their habits simply change based on the concealment folaige, length of days, and pressure. Right now I'm seeing most of the deer right at dark and a few in the morning. Bucks can be seen at any time while they're still in the rut. Their hormones override their instincts.

runfiverun
12-06-2014, 01:50 PM
it depends.
last Tuesday they were for sure moving in the morning.
I seen 4 170-180" class bucks, and a few other smaller but still decent bucks, each with a small harem of does moving across their migration path in s/w Wyoming.
the most I have seen in one day in this area.

here in s/e Idaho they have been moving around midnight and again right before dark.
the weather influences their movements some but I think the moon phase allows them enough light to move at night.
the three days before the full moon in mid-October generally means movement in the mid-day hours.