PDA

View Full Version : Ingots too big for melting pot!

DickelDawg
11-25-2014, 12:43 PM
The WW ingots I bought are too big to go in my Lee IV bottom pour melting pot. How can I easily and safely cut these down to size?

Echo
11-25-2014, 12:49 PM
Melt 'em down in an old pot, or whatever, and make new ingots.
(Those must be humongous ingots - I have some 3-pounders that fit just fine - well, one at a time)

Horseman1
11-25-2014, 12:54 PM
It it were me, I would have fun putting them into a larger pot and making smaller ingots. Since I'm just getting started, I've learned a lot by making ingots first anyway.

[edit] Typing at the same time as Echo, but I type slower!

pjames32
11-25-2014, 12:56 PM
I've cut them with a band saw. You probably will need to soap or WD-40 the blade or it will melt the lead and stick. Go slow! YMMV

azrednek
11-25-2014, 12:58 PM
Buy a cheapie cooking pot from a Goodwill type store, put it on a Coleman stove, turkey fryer or even a barbeque with a hot fire. Pour the melted alloy into an ingot mold such as a muffin pan you can scrounge at Goodwill.

DickelDawg
11-25-2014, 01:02 PM
Thanks again, Gentlemen. Tried the band saw....didn't work for me.

osteodoc08
11-25-2014, 01:03 PM
This is your opportunity to buy a cheap pot and ladle. Buy some rectangular small load pans at Wally World and make some new ingots. Sawdust and wax is cheap. Learn to flux and reduce.

Beagle333
11-25-2014, 01:03 PM
Get a bigger hammer. They'll flatten.

country gent
11-25-2014, 01:11 PM
With the band saw or a sawz all you need a fairly coarse blade to keep it from chip binding and galding. Use beeswax or prafin inthe blade as a cutting fluid. WHat also helps alot is a wire wheel mounted under the table so it spins at an angle pushing the chips out of the blade. If you have a heavy chiesel and big hammer they can someties be split with it. ( alot of work though). A big pot and blend them all flux and make ingots that will fit your pot is the easiest way to go.