PDA

View Full Version : Blemishes

2bears
11-23-2014, 01:22 PM
I am fairly new to casting. I started casting about a year casting .38 -.357 cal bullets. I haven't quite caught on to the lubing part yet. Anyway to the question. I have been casting this week .38 - .357 and .30 cal 130 grain M1 carbine - 7.62 bullets. Everthing seems to be coming out OK except on one side of some of the bullets there seems to be what I would call slight blemishes on one side of the bullet on the upper half, past the lube grooves, I don't think it is frosted on only part of the bullet, my best guess is that it may be where the bullet layed on the towel while cooling? Also there seem to be some..... for a lack of a better word little blackheads or freckles. Under a magnifying glass they appear to be slight pin prick like holes that are barely under the surface. By feel non of these blemishes can be felt and are barely visible except under magnification or a very close up shot with a camera. Once I send in my $20 I will be abl to send a few photos. Are any of these so called blemishes going to mess with anything or should I lube & size a few load them and see what happens.

tomme boy
11-23-2014, 02:03 PM
Register on "PhotoBucket" it is a free photo hosting site. Then you can put the pics on here

popper
11-23-2014, 02:25 PM
I sometimes get 'dirty' looking boolits on one side from the damp towel. Lube & shoot. Sizing should remove evidence of them if any on the drive bands. If they are dropped before solid you will get some funky looking surface, depending on the mould. I see it sometimes on rifle boolits, just above the front band. Mould looses heat the slowest there, slow down before dropping a bit solves the problem.

Yodogsandman
11-23-2014, 02:42 PM
Welcome to the site 2bears! That's a real good question for your first thread!