PDA

View Full Version : Hard or Soft Lube for pistol boolits?

mtgrs737
02-11-2008, 06:03 PM
I'll bet this has been done to death but my searching has not turned up that much info on the subject. I am looking at going to the hard lubes like Carnuba Red to get past the mess of the soft lubes. My concern is that it may not lube as well as the BAC that I am using in short pistol barrels. So before I jumped in I thought I'd ask what the rest of you folks are using and how it is working for you.

dubber123
02-11-2008, 06:48 PM
What caliber/loads?

bobthenailer
02-11-2008, 07:19 PM
ive been useing only hard lubes that you need a heater for over 20 years , and at least 5 different brands of hard lube all work fine for me! , i use them for all bullets for any velocity , but i only use lbt commercial for higher pressure loads above 35.000 psi , i dont think i will ever use soft lube again as the hard works fine for me, and lubing goes faster and you can bulk store bullets and acurracy is just as good as the soft lubes in my testing.

44man
02-11-2008, 07:47 PM
I have cut my groups in half with soft Felix and carnauba red is as good. It is not real hard and works well. Anything harder just doesn't work as well for me.
It is all in what you expect from a revolver. I shoot heavy loads and most of my shooting is at 100 yd's with the occasional trip to the range to shoot 500 meters. I want groups under 1" at 50 yd's and around 1" at 100.
Yes, soft lube is messy and I get it everywhere. I put up with it for the accuracy advantage. If 2" groups at 20 yd's is your cup of tea, it just doesn't matter what you stick on your boolits.
Remember that when you work for accuracy the lube should be worked just like powder charges.
To use a lube just because it is clean can be a big disadvantage.

Navahojoe
02-11-2008, 08:04 PM