PDA

View Full Version : Lee C309-170-F Dropping Boolits at .309

Clinton
11-15-2014, 06:00 PM
I'm just getting into casting for rifle. I worked up some loads for 308 Win using the Lee C309-170-F mold. I had sized them to .309 and the accuracy was pretty bad but no leading. I did some searching on this forum and discovered most people are sizing 308 boolits to .311. So I melted down all I had left and cast a fresh batch. I just measured some from the new batch because I was curious how large they would drop and they're dropping at .309.

So now I'm lost. Do I go ahead and size them to .311 and just hope the gas check does the work or do I need a different mold?

dkf
11-15-2014, 06:01 PM
Different mold. Though you could give beagling a shot first.

ShooterAZ
11-15-2014, 06:01 PM
What alloy are you using, and what are you using to measure them?

Clinton
11-15-2014, 06:04 PM
I'm using straight COWW and using a Lyman micrometer. Err dial caliper, I don't guess I know the difference.

ShooterAZ
11-15-2014, 06:09 PM
Hmmm...I seem to recall that mine casts a little on the small side too. If you are not getting leading you might try a different powder or load. If you have some 2400 powder, try 16 grains and see what happens.

Clinton
11-15-2014, 06:12 PM
Only thing I have suitable is IMR4227. Shelves have been bare around here. I'm just really concerned about the diameter of the boolits before I go any further. I guess you're saying if I'm not getting leading then size should not be a problem?

Clinton
11-15-2014, 06:15 PM
I've got some SR-7625 too. I see that Lyman has load data for that.

ShooterAZ
11-15-2014, 06:17 PM
Sizing may not be your accuracy problem. If you aren't getting leading, then indications are that sizing & lube is OK. Trying to push it too fast could be a problem. What powder charge are you using? Best accuracy will most likely be in the 1600-1900 range.

Clinton
11-15-2014, 06:21 PM